Sprout New Roots

Bell Pepper and Corn soup!

4 Comments

 Let me start off by saying how AMAZING this soup smelled when it was cooking. OMG. I wish I could bottle this smell and wear it as perfume. Really. I was dying, it was so yummy smelling.

This soup is perfect for the cold weather that has been currently taunting Memphis. It is warm, creamy, hearty, mild, but has a spicy bite to it.

AND it is super easy to make. This batch I made a few days ago is all gone, and I totally plan on making another, much larger, batch very soon. The boyfriend, who usually hates any kind of soup, LOVED it. So that right there says how good it is!

  • 2 TBS olive oil or vegetable broth
  • 1 chopped red onion
  • 2 cups chopped red & yellow bell peppers
  • 3 chopped cloves garlic
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Heat olive oil in a large pot. When it simmers, add red onion, bell peppers & garlic.  Cook 5 minutes until softened.  Add frozen corn, stir, & cook another 3 minutes.

Add vegetable stock & bring to a boil.  Reduce heat & let simmer 10 minutes.

Remove 2 cups of the soup and puree with a blender (I used my trusty magic bullet :)).  Add red pepper flakes, salt & pepper to the puree.

Return puree to the soup pot and stir.

Eat up!

I found the original recipe for this soup here.

- Jenn

Author: jenncab

22 year old animal lovin', vegan eatin', new orleanian currently living in memphis with my boyfriend and dog

4 thoughts on “Bell Pepper and Corn soup!

  1. Pingback: Bell Pepper and Corn soup | Animalactionist's Blog

  2. I hear you about the heavenly scent of this soup! Glad you loved it!

  3. Sounds like it would be easy to do a raw version of this in the VitaMix. We’ll have to give this a try. Thanks!

  4. I agree – definitely would be easy to do a raw version! I’ll have to give that a try too! Thanks for the idea!

    - Jenn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers