Sprout New Roots

Carrots and Broccoli, Oh My!

8 Comments

Hey guys and gals! I’m going to share with you a yummy, affordable, and super healthy dish, k? K, cool! Before my sister and I went vegan around 8 months ago, we always loved our aunt’s carrot/broccoli parmesan pasta that she would make for most family events. It was one of our go-to vegetarian dishes that we’d load up onto our plates. My husband loves this simple dish as well. So, while at the grocery store earlier Jason threw the idea out to make it for dinner-only vegan, obviously. So we did and I even added in a fun surprise: chopped up almonds! Next time, I may even leave out the pasta entirely since I found myself eating mainly the broccoli and carrots because they were so good! Seriously, that would make a wonderful dish on it’s own, or a great side dish!

Anywho, my aunt’s dish kinda goes like this: white pasta, steamed carrots, steamed broccoli, minced garlic, olive oil, and parmesan, all tossed together.

My dish kinda goes like this:

Carrot & Broccoli Almond Pasta

1 lb. bag of whole wheat pasta, cooked – in our case, tonight, we used a spinach flavored one (I personally didn’t taste anything spinachy so next time if I even use pasta, I’ll just stick with regular whole wheat)

2 heads broccoli chopped up, steamed

10-15 carrots chopped up, steamed

4 garlic cloves, minced/chopped, then very lightly sauteed for 5 or so minutes on the stove in just a splash of water

a big handful of almonds, soaked/sprouted, then dried out (google how to do this bc it takes hours-here’s one basic link http://www.almondessence.com/Transforming.cfm); but it’s easy and increases your absorbancy of the nutrient power of almonds, and makes their outer shell digest-able). Once they were finished being sprouted, I laid them onto my toaster oven pan and baked them at 150 degrees for an hour or 2 until they seemed mostly dry. Then I chopped up (I used my mini prep processor). This is a good idea to do regularly to have sprouted almonds on-hand so you can easily add them to dishes-like I did!

Olive oil

Combine everything and mix up! Drizzle a little olive oil to your liking into the mix (try not to over-do this as olive oil is super fatty!).

Be sure to follow us on Pinterest! (http://pinterest.com/sproutnewroots/)

Author: kncaballero

Vegan Graphic Designer and lover of all things fauna and flora! :)

8 thoughts on “Carrots and Broccoli, Oh My!

  1. What a gorgeous dish! šŸ˜€

  2. Beautiful and lookis so yummy! Cannot wait to try this one.

  3. Sounds good! To add the cheese flavor of your aunt’s original version you could use one of those vegan Parmesan substitutes, or just sprinkle on some nutritional yeast – even easier! Another option is to replace your normal olive oil with a mushroom-infused olive oil. Sounds odd, but mushroom-infused olive oils can add an excellent depth and warmth similar to cheese.

    • Yep, I considered nutritional yeast but just decided to go without it this time and see since I am out-and honestly, it was just so simply good! But nut.yeast is def a fun idea to try! And Ive never tried mushroom infused oils! Is there a brand you can recommend?

  4. Oooo…that sounds delicious!! Thank you! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

