Sprout New Roots

Chocolate Chia Pudding!

19 Comments

Ok so I feel like I have been hearing about chia seeds for the last year or so but I hadn’t tried them until recently. They have always intrigued me but I never splurged on them because usually it’s at least $10-$20 for a bag of them and I tend to be frugal…Nevertheless, I knew they came jam-packed with disease fighting nutrients and I am so happy to have finally bought a bag ($10 for a 15oz bag of Whole Foods’ 365 brand-well worth it!). They’re actually considered a Superfood due to their high nutrient content! They are full of both soluble and insoluble fiber and therefore help you to sustain energy and maintain fullness (and help you to become, digestively-speaking, “regular” -but I’ll save that glorious topic for another post :)~). They also help to balance out your blood sugar and induce weight loss. “Chia” happens to be the word for “strength” in the Mayan language. According to Brendan Frazier’s book, “Thrive”, “Aztec warriors were rumored to eat chia before going into battle to give them a nutritional boost and thereby improve their endurance. They were also said to have carried it with them when they ran long distances to be used as their body’s primary food source.”(Thrive, pg. 123).Β  One really cool thing about these seeds is the versatility in which you can use them. I’ve thrown them into our salads and home-made veggie burgers and even my no-tuna salad sandwich that I made this week (https://sproutnewroots.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/fish-are-friends-not-food/). They can be used as an egg substitute in baking as well. Seriously, guys-Google this teeny tiny power-packed seed and sneak it into your everyday meals!

Here are a few little nutritional facts about this powerful little seed:

-Chia contains 2x the amount of protein in any other seed or grain

-5x the calcium of milk, plus boron which is a trace mineral that helps transfer calcium into your bones

-2x the amount of potassium in bananas

-3x the antioxidant strength of blueberries

-3x more iron than spinach

-copius amounts of Omega 3 and Omega 6

I actually started eating chia seeds as my breakfast at work. I take about 1 tablespoon of them and mix it into either a glass of almond or soy milk or water. You have to mix it up really well -every 5 minutes or so-over a period of 20-30 minutes so that the seeds don’t clump up. Once they sit in liquid for that long, they form a gel-like texture (think tapioca pudding) and you eat/drink it! They have such a mild taste too so you really don’t notice anything but the texture and a slight little crunch-which i love for some reason.

Anywho, while I have been altering my diet over the last year, I have gradually phased out my needing to have something sweet after EVERY meal. Yea-talk about sugar addiction-not pretty. Now I reserve dessert as an occasional treat, and when I do partake in it, it’s usually savory and rich and I try not to overindulge. I’d rather a small bit of something rich and amazing than a ton of something that’s super sweet-which brings me to this Chocolate Chia Pudding post! This stuff is amazing, guys! And it isn’t too sweet-but rather it’s rich with cocoa flavor! So far I’ve made individual tea-cup sized servings of this for Jason and I. It’s his new favorite thing I make by the way. He’s a little obsessed. πŸ™‚

Chocolate Chia PuddingΒ  (1 individual tea-cup sized serving)

4-8 ounces of almond milk (or soy or whatever plant-based milk you prefer-vanilla flavored ones add extra sweetness)

2 Tablespoons of chia seeds

1.5-2 tablespoons of cocoa powder (you can use carob powder or cacao)

1 teaspoon raw agave nectar (or honey)

Toppings of your choice (I have used vegan chocolate chips and also strawberries)

Mix the seeds and liquid really well with a fork so that every seed gets wet. Add in the cocoa powder and agave nectar and mix. The cocoa powder tends to be a pain to mix in as it stays dry until you really get it going. Don’t give up though-it’ll take! Put in the fridge for about 20 minutes or longer (you can even leave it overnight). Over the course of the first 30 minutes, go re-stir the mixture a few times. Then, eat up when you’re ready!

How do y’all like to eat chia seeds? Do share πŸ™‚

 

Don’t forget to follow us on Pinterest! (www.pinterest.com/sproutnewroots/)

Author: kncaballero

Vegan Graphic Designer and lover of all things fauna and flora! :)

19 thoughts on “Chocolate Chia Pudding!

  1. Hoooo! Sounds good! Thanks for the ingredients list; how do you make it?
    I think I might try it with another alternate topping: a dash of chili powder, a dash of cinnamon, and one ground-up coffee bean. Mmmm.

  2. Oops! I forgot to write directions! I just added them in there! Thanks haha It’s just too easy that I forgot! Anyways, adding in some coffee flavor sounds amazing…Let me know what you end up trying!

  3. Chocolate Chia Pudding is the BEST! I like making it with carob powder — I find I don’t even need a sweetener with it that way. πŸ™‚

    • it really is divine!! πŸ™‚ I can’t believe that as you posted it the other day-I was preparing to make mine! I’ll have to try the carob powder! I sprinkled it into my oatmeal this morning as well! I’m seriously adding it in everything! kinda fun!

  4. Chia seeds are on my shopping list! I am so behind – keep reading about them. Your post makes me even more eager to get my hands on them ;-)!

  5. Awesome!! I think you’ll enjoy them! πŸ™‚

  6. Sounds DELISH! I will try this. Sounds yummy. Thanks for sharing. I add chia seeds to my morning smoothie.

  7. So excited, I found some chia seeds today! I have been keeping an eye out for some health/wholesome foods and finally, success! Thanks for the recipe. I am pumped about these lil’ guys!

    • Awesome!! Jill, I’m seriously putting them in everything! They’re too easy to work with. Also, I’ve been making veggie burgers and just mixing them with water in a separate small bowl-mixing and waiting until it congeals together, then mixing it into my veggie burger mush–it acts as an egg replacement and helps to bind the burgers together-and adds fiber and all the wonderful perks of the chia πŸ™‚

  8. Reblogged this on The Animal Actionist and commented:
    This dessert looks absolutely delicious, and very VERY good for you!

  9. i try to add chia seeds with most foods, even the dogs get a teaspoon mixed with their food! i buy mine at the ‘chemist warehouse’ much cheaper than a health food shop.

    • Oooo that’s a good idea to give them to the pups! I’ll have to start that! Also, I’ll def be checking out chemist warehouse. I’ve never heard of that before-thanks!

  10. I made this yesterday! I left the seeds to gel overnight. Wow– the texture is like tapioca pudding….or caviar, (which I’ve never had,) viscous and pebbly. It was tasty, for sure. I have to get used to the texture, though.

    • Awesome!! So happy you tried it! It’s definitely a texture that you have to get used to if you aren’t into the tapioca thing…haha but it def is a fun way to eat chia! πŸ™‚ I’m also finding I just throw the seeds into so many things I eat since theyre so tiny and basically flavor-less!

  11. I just fell on love with chia pudding this week. I had been putting chia seeds in my smoothies but this is such a unique way to incorporate them into my diet. I have tried different milks (almond, almond coconut) and different additives (fruits). My favorite is mixing half a banana, cinnamon, splash of vanilla and ginger and refrigerate overnight in a separate container. Then I mix in with the pudding in the morning. Yum! Definitely going to try the chocolate recipe. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

