Sprout New Roots

Going Bananas Over Ice Cream!

2 Comments

So I know this is the oldest trick in the vegan book-but I had to post about it in case anyone hadn’t yet tried this- and maybe I’m reminding you of it! Or maybe you’ve never even heard of it.  Blended up frozen bananas=instant ice cream! Well, almost instant. If you don’t count the time it takes to freeze the bananas. Anywho, that’s it. Healthy home-made ice cream can be yours! You can simply just freeze bananas and blend! (you may need to add a little water or milk of your choice). Or you can get all fancy schmancy with it! Tonight I made a popular blend-It’s just simply good. Bananas, peanut butter, and cocoa powder. Done. Sold. I’m always in! And here’s how I do it.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Naner Ice Cream (2 servings)

1.5-2 frozen bananas

2-3 T cocoa powder

1 large T peanut butter of your choice

1/4 cup Water/Nut milk of your choice

1/2 a handful of almonds/nuts-if desired

Freeze your bananas. I usually keep frozen bananas in my freezer for my morning green smoothies-so if you do not, remember to freeze those naners tonight! Also, I usually cut mine up before freezing in a container. Once frozen, throw them into your blender. Add everything-except the water or nut milk. Blend. Check it out, move it around, add some liquid. Blend. Check it out-add liquid and blend to desired consistency. You may not even need all the water or milk. Pour in a bowl-enjoy!

Do any of you have a favorite banana ice cream concoction? Comment and let us know! We’d love to try it!

Also, we are now on Facebook! Become a fan here!

Author: kncaballero

Vegan Graphic Designer and lover of all things fauna and flora! :)

2 thoughts on “Going Bananas Over Ice Cream!

  1. Gimme, gimme! Looks great. I’ll never forget the day I got my previously-owned Champion juicer, and I saw the little blank attachment. My friend said, “oh- that’s for banana ice cream!” My dessert life hasn’t been the same since. But of course, it works fine in the blender too.

  2. haha yep! this opens up sooo many possibilities in desserts!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

