Sprout New Roots

Homemade Lara Bar Bites!

1 Comment

Hello all! I have a sweet AND healthy snack for you today! Anyone here like Lara Bars as much as I do? I love love love them!  They taste so yummy and are great to keep on hand for on-the-go quick snacks.

Whenever I buy them (which is rare because they can be a bit pricey), I get the “Cashew Cookie” flavor. I love it for its simplicity: it is simply made of dates and cashews. I have always thought it must be easy enough to copy and cheaper to make on my own, so I decided to give it a go. I found a great resource here. This blog lays out the recipes for tons of different Lara Bar flavors.

I kept it simple and made the “Cashew Cookie” one as well as another made of dates and almonds. They  turned out delicious! I can’t wait to try some different ingredient combinations.

“Cashew Cookie” 

  • 1/2 cup Pitted medjool Dates
  • 1/2 cup raw unsalted cashews

Almond/Date 

  • 1/2 cup Pitted medjool Dates
  • 1/2 cup almonds

Directions:

  • Blend pitted dates in food processor until it becomes a paste; place in bowl.
  • Pulse nuts in food processor until chopped to your desired size.
  • Mix date paste and chopped nuts with hands until mixed, and roll mixture into balls.
  • Place on a plate and let it sit in a refrigerator for about a half hour.
  • Eat up!
Author: jenncab

22 year old animal lovin', vegan eatin', new orleanian currently living in memphis with my boyfriend and dog

One thought on “Homemade Lara Bar Bites!

  1. YUM!!! Homemade larabars are the BEST!!! What a great recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

