Sprout New Roots

Easy Homemade Peanut Butter!

9 Comments

Ok y’all, I love peanut butter. Like, love it. I dip my apples in it, I make pb banana sandwiches, I add it to my smoothies, the list goes on. I used to buy JIF peanut butter until I noticed the ingredients having lots of oil and other things in there that I didn’t find necessary. The same goes for other brands-most have added oils. So for the last year or so I have been buying Whole Foods 365 brand-which is great. Ingredients read: Peanuts, Salt. That’s it and I’m cool with that. But then I saw a link on Pinterest (haha that’s how most girl’s conversations go these days, right?!) about making your own peanut butter and how easy it is. I know that you can make your own at Whole Foods and other groceries but the DIY-er in me had to try this on my own at home because it just seemed too easy.  And it is! This is my first go at it so I literally only used peanuts-which is all you need.  I took a bag of roasted peanuts that I had in my pantry and shelled some until I had enough of that (this is the only work that’s really involved here), threw them in the mini processor, blended until it was the right consistency-done! It’s crazy how at first it starts to look like sand-but you have to keep blending because eventually it breaks down the natural oils and becomes a buttery consistency.

I can’t wait to get experimental with this and add things like cocoa powder or coconut flakes or chocolate chips! I wonder if pumpkin would work in there? I’ll have to try my own almond butter as well-and cashew butter/cream. Now I’ll be dreaming about nut butters the rest of the day! Ooh these could make great Christmas gifts too!

Ok cough it up-do you have a great home-made nut-butter recipe that we should know about? Please share!

Author: kncaballero

Vegan Graphic Designer and lover of all things fauna and flora! :)

9 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Peanut Butter!

  1. Yes! I saw this on Pinterest as well! Now I jus thave to get a new food processor! I was thinking the same thing because I too eat plenty of peanut butter!

  2. I love any kind of homemade nut butter!

  3. I have a couple different nut butter on my blog if you’re interested! And honestly, just straight up homemade raw almond butter is AMAZING 🙂

    http://veggienook.com/recipes-2/

  4. Agreed, totally. And have you seen the price of some of the nut butters? You have to consider selling a couple of acres to afford a jar! Well, as you now know it doesn’t have to when you make your own. I’ve used all kinds of nuts to make nut butters, and used nut blends to make some funky ones too. Here’s a post about it: http://knowthankyou.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/amber-waves-of-almond-butter/

    Don’t forget that if you can grind up nuts, you can grind up garbanzo beans (chick peas) too. That makes hummus. Or grind up smoked eggplant to make baba ghanouj. Now I’m getting hungry!

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups! (V) « Sprout New Roots

Leave a Reply

